top of page

Urbane Agency Group

Public·7 members
Sergi Villalta Reig
Sergi Villalta Reig

Jean Langlais Suite Medievale Pdf 21

Jean Langlais Suite Medievale Pdf 21

Jean Langlais (1907-1991) was a French composer and organist who was blind since the age of two. He composed over 250 works for organ, choir, orchestra, chamber music, and solo instruments. He was also a renowned improviser and teacher who influenced many generations of musicians.

Download Zip:

One of his most popular works is the Suite Medievale, a low Mass for organ composed in 1947. The Suite Medievale draws on the rich tradition of French organ suites that were used during the "low" Mass, a type of Mass where the organist played for virtually the entire service, pausing only for the reading and homily. The Suite Medievale consists of six movements, each based on a Gregorian chant melody that corresponds to a part of the Mass:

  • Introduction: Kyrie fons bonitatis

  • Tiento: Gloria in excelsis Deo

  • Improvisation: Credo III

  • Meditation: Ave verum corpus

  • Acclamations carolingiennes: Sanctus IX

  • Postlude: Ite missa est VIII

The Suite Medievale invites the listener into the heart of the liturgy, as Langlais uses the chant melodies as a basis for his musical expression. He employs various techniques such as modal harmony, polyphony, imitation, ornamentation, and rhythmic variation to create a colorful and diverse musical landscape. The Suite Medievale also reflects Langlais' personal style, which combines elements of neo-classicism, impressionism, and modernism.

The Suite Medievale is a masterpiece of liturgical organ music that showcases Langlais' skill as a composer and organist. It is also a testament to his devotion to sacred music and Gregorian chant, which he regarded as his personal domain. The Suite Medievale can be enjoyed both in concert and liturgical settings, as it offers a rich musical experience for both the performer and the listener.

If you are interested in learning more about Jean Langlais and his music, you can visit his official website, where you can find information about his biography, works, recordings, publications, and events. You can also download a PDF file of the score of the Suite Medievale from his website.


  • Jean Langlais Website - Scores

  • Jean Langlais Suite médiévale and Vatican II - The Diapason

  • Programme notes for Langlais Suite Médiévale, Gigout Grand Chœur ...

  • Jean Langlais Website - Home


Welcome to the group! You can connect with other members, ge...


  • Precious Presh
  • Sergi Villalta Reig
    Sergi Villalta Reig
  • Проверено! Превосходный Результат
    Проверено! Превосходный Результат
  • Shawn Glasper
    Shawn Glasper
  • Muslim Noses
    Muslim Noses


bottom of page